NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series
NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series
JEG’S Northern SPORTSnationals
National Trail Raceway
Columbus, Ohio
July 31st

Race Day Summary

Peter Biondo and Mike Ashley emerged as two of the biggest stars from the inaugural Jegs NHRA Northern SPORTSnationals at National Trail Raceway.

Biondo, of Maspeth, N.Y., became just the ninth driver in NHRA history to record a double win when he claimed the Super Stock and Stock eliminator titles. The former NHRA World champion drove his ’69 Camaro to a win over Jim Boudreau of Tewksbury, Mass., in Stock eliminator after Boudreau red-lighted. Minutes later, Biondo returned to the starting line to complete the historic dual win by driving his GT/FA Firebird to a final round victory over James Vester of Carlisle, Ind.

Ashley, of Melville, N.Y., won the coveted Jeg’s Crown trophy after driving his Gotham City Racing Mustang to a win in the AMS Staff Leasing/TLR Pro Mod event. Ashley finished the day with a final round victory over Josh Hernandez of Conroe, Texas. Ashley was eligible to win the Jeg’s Crown trophy because he won both the Jegs.com NHRA Cajun SPORTSnationals in Belle Rose, La., and the Northern SPORTSnationals in Columbus.

Biondo and Ashley shared the National Trail Raceway winner’s circle with Jeff Taylor, who won the Comp Eliminator title, Brian Shockley, who won in Super Comp, Paul Brown, the Super Gas victor, and Michael Crick, who claimed the trophy in Super Street.

Three-time NHRA World champion Taylor, of Lumberton, N.C., won the final in Comp behind the wheel of his ’05 Pontiac Grand Am after Wayne Henderson of Fishers, Ind., fouled in his dragster.

Shockley, of Lebanon, Ind., won his first NHRA national event title in Super Comp by running right on the 8.90 index in the final to defeat Team Jeg’s driver Mike Coughlin of Delaware, Ohio in an all-dragster final round. Had Coughlin won, he too would have claimed the coveted Jeg’s Crown trophy since he was also victorious at the Belle Rose event last April.

Brown, of Cass City, Mich., drove his ’68 Dodge Dart to the Super Gas title over Dale Barnard of Meadville, Pa., and Crick, of Nortonville, Ky., came from the No. 1 qualifying position in Super Street to the winner’s circle after defeating Ray Fordyce III in the final round.

In addition to Mike Coughlin’s runner-up finish in Super Comp, Team Jeg’s driver John Coughlin posted round two finishes in Super Stock and Super Comp. Troy Coughlin was defeated in the second round of Super Gas but later advanced to the semifinal round of Pro Mod before losing a close race against his teammate, eventual winner Ashley.

Additional resources can be found at: www.teamjegs.com

Media Contact:

Scott ‘Woody’ Woodruff
Director of Media & Motorsports
Office: 800.345.4545 (3.412)
Mobile: 614.595.1820
Fax: 740.362.4385
Email: jegspr@aol.com -or- scott.woodruff@jegs.com
Web Site: www.teamjegs.com -or www.jegs.com


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance