Following an incredible season, Chevrolet won the 2008 NHRA Manufacturers Cup for the 17th time, the most ever by any automobile manufacturer. The title is Chevrolet’s second straight and third this decade, having also won in 2002.

Chevrolet won its first NHRA Manufacturers Cup title in 1966 in what was the first of four straight for the car builder to dominate the late 1960s.

Chevrolet also dominated the 1970s, winning in seven of 10 seasons in the midst of a nine-year streak that lasted from 1973 through 1981, then won again in 1983.

Team Chevy’s on-track drag racing accomplishments in 2008 were impressive, especially in the Pro Stock category, where Chevy drivers earned 11 victories, 23 final-round appearances, and eight No. 1 qualifying awards.

Four Chevy Cobalt drivers made the Countdown to 1, and three Team Chevy drivers finished in the top five of the POWERade standings, including Jeg Coughlin, who captured his second straight NHRA POWERade championship behind the wheel of a Chevrolet.

Coughlin joins an elite foursome of Pro Stock drivers who have won at least four NHRA Pro Stock titles; the others are Bob Glidden, Lee Shepherd, and Warren Johnson.

Multiple victories at NHRA divisional and national levels by Chevrolet’s stampede of Sportsman competitors were a key component in the Chevy Red Bowtie’s 2008 NHRA Manufacturers Cup.

More than 20 different Super Stock drivers competing in ’08 Chevy Cobalts contributed to more than half of Chevy’s points total.

Chevy Super Stock stalwarts included Jimmy DeFrank, Ryan McClanahan, Justin Lamb, Jeff Lane, Peter Biondo, and Justin Jenkins.

Lucas Oil Sportsman national champions driving Chevrolets in 2008 included Frank Manzo, who captured his 12th Top Alcohol Funny Car crown with his Monte Carlo entry; Dan Fletcher in Comp with Rick Braun’s Cobalt; and Ricky Decker in Super Stock with his Camaro.

Pontiac, which has won 10 NHRA Manufacturers Cup titles, finished in second place with 4,400 points.

The NHRA Manufacturers Cup has been awarded since 1964. It is presented to the automobile manufacturer whose current models in Pro Stock, Super Stock, and Stock earn the most points for qualifying and category victories at NHRA Drag Racing Series national and divisional events.

Points are awarded to entries in Pro Stock, Super Stock, and Stock as follows: 60 points for an eliminator victory, 40 points for an eliminator runner-up, and 20 points for an eliminator qualification.


2008 Chevrolet 6,660
2007 Chevrolet 6,240
2006 Pontiac 4,280
2005 Pontiac 3,400
2004 Pontiac 4,420
2003 Pontiac 3,620
2002 Chevrolet 4,440
2001 Pontiac 5,760
2000 Pontiac 6,180
1999 Pontiac 7,320
1998 Pontiac 87,040
1997 Pontiac 13,400
1996 Pontiac 7,760
1995 Oldsmobile 8,320
1994 Oldsmobile 64,200
1993 Oldsmobile 76,000
1992 Oldsmobile 56,800
1991 Oldsmobile 96,400
1990 Oldsmobile 84,200
1989 Oldsmobile 53,200
1988 Oldsmobile 73,200
1987 Oldsmobile 75,800
1986 Oldsmobile 70,600
1985 Oldsmobile 47,600
1984 Oldsmobile 18,800
1983 Chevrolet 17,000
1982 Ford 2,500
1981 Chevrolet 14,100
1980 Chevrolet 26,700
1979 Chevrolet 21,900
1978 Chevrolet 23,700
1977 Chevrolet 23,300
1976 Chevrolet 18,700
1975 Chevrolet 9,200
1974 Chevrolet 10,500
1973 Chevrolet 12,300
1972 Oldsmobile 16,400
1971 Oldsmobile 14,900
1970 Plymouth 21,300
1969 Chevrolet N/A
1968 Chevrolet N/A
1967 Chevrolet N/A
1966 Chevrolet N/A
1965 Ford N/A
1964 Ford N/A


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance