COLUMBUS, Ohio (Sept. 19) — An elite field of 15 highly-skilled sportsman drag racers are in the running for the coveted JEGS Crown trophy, a special award that could be earned by each driver at next weekend’s JEGS NHRA Northern SPORTSnationals at National Trail Raceway in Hebron, Ohio. 

The JEGS Crown is a specially designed trophy that was painstakingly handcrafted by renowned artist Dan Dreisbach of Naked Sculpture ( It is considered by many to be the drag racing equivalent of an Olympic gold medal simply because it is so difficult to obtain. 

The only way to win the JEGS Crown is to win an eliminator title at two of the three JEGS NHRA SPORTSnationals events held each year; the JEGS NHRA Cajun SPORTSnationals in Belle Rose, La., the JEGS NHRA Pacific SPORTSnationals in Fontana, Calif., and the JEGS NHRA Northern SPORTSnationals. Since it’s creation in 2005, the JEGS Crown has been claimed just one time.


The 15 drivers who earlier this season claimed victories in Belle Rose and Fontana will now have the opportunity to head to National Trail for a shot at the unique award. They are David Rampy, Terry Emmons, Kevin Helms, Jeff Lopez, Rustin Mayse, Chris LeBlanc, Todd Stewart, Mark Jones, Steve Wann, Jeffrey Jerome, Jeg Coughlin Jr., Thomas Bayer, Greg Ventura, Rich Takashi and Paul Snell.

The two drivers with the best shot at winning the JEGS Crown is Rampy of Peidmont, Ala., in Comp Eliminator and Helms of Schriever, La., in Stock. No stranger to the winner’s circle, Rampy has earned five national event wins this year, bringing his NHRA National event win count to 79. Helms also has a history of success and came close to earning the trophy when he took home the win in 2008 at the Cajun SPORTSnationals in Stock and had a runner-up finish at the Northern SPORTSnationals later that year. 

Drivers eligible for the 2011 JEGS Crown


Driver                          Hometown                            Class                           Event

David Rampy              Piedmont, Ala.                        Comp                          Belle Rose

Steve Wann                 Modesto, Calif.                       Super Stock                 Fontana

Terry Emmons      League City, Texas                 Super Stock                 Belle Rose

Jeff Jerome                  Los Angeles                            Stock                           Fontana

Kevin Helms               Schriever, La.                          Stock                           Belle Rose

Jeg Coughlin, Jr.         Delaware, Ohio                       Super Comp                Fontana

Jeff Lopez                   Bedford, Texas                       Super Comp                Belle Rose

Thomas Bayer             Fontana, Calif.                          Super Gas                    Fontana

Rustin Mayse              Grandview, Texas                   Super Gas                    Belle Rose

Greg Ventura              Garden Grove, Calif.              Super Street                Fontana

Chris Le Blanc            Pearland, Texas                       Super Street                Belle Rose

Rick Takahashi            San Gabriel, Calif.                  Top Sportsman            Fontana

Todd Stewart              Kilgore, Texas                         Top Sportsman            Belle Rose

Paul Snell                    Sandy, Utah                            Top Dragster               Fontana

Mark Jones                  Marrero, La.                            Top Dragster               Belle Rose


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:







Media Contact:

Scott “Woody” Woodruff

JEGS, Director of Media & Motorsports

Office: 800-345-4545 (#3, ext. 412)

Mobile: 614-595-1820

Fax: 740-362-5507

Email:  or


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance