JOLIET, Ill. (June 4) – For the 23rd consecutive year, a field of 64 of the best NHRA Sportsman drivers from all over North America will converge on Route 66 Raceway for the annual JEGS Allstars competition. The 64 drivers, representing each of NHRA’s seven geographic divisions, will compete for a share of more than $100,000 in cash and contingency awards.

The JEGS Allstars features sportsman racing in eight NHRA eliminators; Top Alcohol Dragster, Top Alcohol Funny Car, Competition Eliminator, Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas and Super Street. Racers qualify to compete in the Allstar event by earning points at Lucas Oil Series races within their home divisions. Each eliminator features an eight car field, one driver from each division and the defending event champ, who is welcomed back as a blocker. Allstar contestants compete for individual and team honors. The champions in Top Alcohol Dragster and Top Alcohol Funny Car each $7,000 each; in Comp and Super Stock, $6,000 each; and in Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, and Super Street, $4,500 each. Runner-ups in all categories receive $2,000. All contestants also earn travel money which is determined by their proximity to Joliet, Ill. In addition the overall team champion at the completion of the event will split a $20,000 bonus.

“We are involved in many different programs but the JEGS Allstars is one of the annual highlights for our company,” said John Coughlin, who operates the giant JEGS Mail Order Company along with his three brothers, Troy, Mike and Jeg Jr. “Being sportsman racers ourselves, my brothers and I understand the level of commitment it takes to become an Allstar. These racers truly are the best of the best. This is an extremely competitive event yet it also features the sort of camaraderie and team spirit that is seldom seen in other sports. It is a wonderful thing to be a part of.”

Last year, the team from the Northeast Division, led by event winners Frank Manzo (Top Alcohol Funny Car), Don Pires Jr. (Stock), and Lynn Hoosigian (Super Street) won its first overall team title since 1995. Those three drivers will return to Joliet where they will be joined by Dan Mercier (Top Alcohol Dragster), Sal Biondo (Comp), Michael Iacono (Super Stock), Russ Linke (Stock), Mike Robilotto (Super Comp), Iggie Boicesco (Super Gas), and Joe Urbino (Super Stock). Every driver on the Division 1 squad have appeared in at least one national event final and thee racers, Manzo, Biondo, and Boicesco are former series champions.

The teams from the West Central Division (Division 5) and the Pacific Division (Division 7) have never won the overall team championship but may be poised to end that draught in 2007. The Division 5 team will include former national champion Cy Chesterman (Top Alcohol Funny Car) and multi-time national event winners Clint Sallee (Comp), and Jeff Cheney (Super Comp). The Division 7 squad will rest its hopes with Chris Demke (Top Alcohol Dragster) Doug Gordon (Top Alcohol Funny Car), former national champion John Calvert (Super Stock), and last year’s Stock runner-up Tibor Kadar.

The JEGS Allstars event will begin at 10 a.m. on Saturday, June 9 with a photo session and driver introductions. The opening round of eliminations is scheduled for 10:30 a.m., semifinal rounds at 2:30 p.m., and the final rounds will take place at 4 p.m. The event concludes with an awards ceremony and racer appreciation barbecue that will take place on Saturday evening.

Information regarding JEGS Mail Order can be found at and for media/fan resources check out

Media Contact:

Scott “Woody” Woodruff
JEGS, Director of Media & Motorsports
Office: 800.345.4545 (3.412)
Mobile: 614.595.1820
Fax: 740.362.4385
Email: -or-


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance