Jeg Coughlin Jr / Pre-race Notes
O’Reilly Super Start Nationals
Texas Motorplex
Ennis, Texas (Sept. 24-26)
Jeg Coughlin made his professional debut at the Texas Motorplex in 1997, qualifying No. 7 and reached the quarterfinal round. Jeg recorded his first round win against the late Scott Geoffrion and his first loss came against Jim Yates.
The O’Reilly Super Start Nationals is the second of six events in the NHRA Countdown to the Championship playoff that will determine the 2009 Full Throttle Champions. Jeg Coughlin enters the event as the second-ranked driver in the Pro Stock class. He currently trails leader Mike Edwards by 56 points. (At the same point in the 2008 season, Jeg was ranked third, 31 points behind leader Kurt Johnson.)
Jeg won the O’Reilly Super Start Nationals in 2002, beating Gene Wilson in the final round. He was also a runner-up at the event in 2000, 2003, and 2008.
Jeg’s round win record through 19 of 24 events in 2009 is 47-12. By comparison, his record for the entire 24-race 2008 season was 43-20.
Jeg has been the No. 1 qualifier in Pro Stock 15 times in his career and three of them have come at the Texas Motorplex. He held the top spot in 2000, 2004, and 2008. Jeg also set low elapsed time and top speed of the meet at the 2004 race. 
In addition to his seven national event victories this season, Jeg also won the $50,000 top prize in the K&N Filter Horsepower Challenge held in Norwalk. Jeg defeated Greg Anderson in the final and has now won the specialty event three times in his career. His other wins came in 1999 and 2000.
Jeg is one of just nine racers to win 60 or more NHRA national events. The others are John Force (126), Warren Johnson (96), Bob Glidden (85), Frank Manzo (85), Pat Austin (75), David Rampy (71), Kenny Bernstein (69), and Dan Fletcher (63).
Jeg earned a berth in Countdown to the Championship by winning seven events. This season, he has recorded wins in Phoenix, Las Vegas, Madison, Joliet, Englishtown, Reading, and Indianapolis. Jeg also earned runner-up honors at the NHRA events in Atlanta and Houston.
In 18 events this year, Jeg has lost in the first round of competition just once, at the most recent event in Concord, N.C. For his career, Jeg has just 57 round one losses in 255 starts.
In 255 career Pro Stock races, Jeg has reached the final round 77 times, recording 48 wins. Including his 13 sportsman victories, Jeg has won a total of 61 times, good for ninth place on NHRA’s all time wins list. During his career, Jeg has appeared in 95 final rounds, 77 as a professional and 18 as a sportsman racer.
Jeg is the reigning NHRA Pro Stock champion. He has earned four NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series Pro Stock titles in his career, including back-to-back titles in 2007 and 2008. His other titles came in 2000 and 2002. As a sportsman racer, Jeg also captured the Super Gas championship in 1992.
In 14 career appearances at the Texas Motorplex, Jeg has an 18-10 record in Pro Stock competition.

Information regarding JEGS Mail Order can be found at  and for media/fan resources checkout .
Media Contact:
Scott “Woody” Woodruff
JEGS, Director of Media & Motorsports
Office: 800.345.4545 (3.412)
Mobile: 614.595.1820
Fax: 740.362.4385
Email: -or-


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance