NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series
NHRA O’Reilly Summer Nationals
presented by Castrol
Heartland Park Topeka
Topeka, KS
May 27-30th

Team JEG’S – Pro Stock
Jeg Coughlin
Pre Race Summary

This weekend Jeg Coughlin will be competing in the NHRA O’Reilly Summer Nationals in Topeka, KS and looks to get back into the winner’s circle. Coughlin’s best finish to date has been a runner up finish at the Mac Tools Gatornationals.

The two-time NHRA Pro Stock champion knows what it takes to win. Coughlin has won 45 NHRA national events in his career and two of them have happened in Topeka, KS. He first scored a victory in 1994 in Super Stock and tasted victory again in 2000 behind the wheel of a Pro Stock car.

“We brought the car back to the shop after the last race in Chicago to make some changes to it,” commented Coughlin. “We haven’t been too far off with our set up lately. The changes that we made to the car for this race should help put us back where we belong. I think the car will be more responsive, more predictable and put us in a position to win races.”

The engine is always a big part of a winning combination in racing. The engine shop at Team Jeg’s has been very busy in the horsepower department and continues to move forward in an aggressive way.

“We’ve done some serious R&D work on our engine program and it’s paying off. That’s the name of the game in Pro Stock. Horsepower is king and in this class you always need more, that’s one thing that has never changed.”

Coughlin continues to hold the longest active qualifying streak in Pro Stock at 44 straight events. The last race he failed to qualify at was in 2002 at the first of two races held annually at Route 66 Raceway in Joliet, IL. The 33-year old second generation driver has never qualified worse then eighth at this event.


Jeg Coughlin Jr. won the Topeka event in 2000, defeating Larry Morgan, Scott Geoffrion, Warren Johnson and Darrell Alderman.

In six appearances at Heartland Park Topeka, Jeg has never qualified lower than eighth in Pro Stock.

Jeg boasts an 11-5 win-loss record in elimination rounds in Topeka. He has beaten ten different drivers in that span.

Jeg also has appeared in two final rounds as a sportsman driver in Topeka. He was runner-up in Comp in 1997 and won the Super Stock title in 1994.


1. Greg Anderson 881
2. Kurt Johnson 592
3. Jason Line 568
4. Larry Morgan 477
5. Jeg Coughlin 454
6. Dave Connolly 442
7. Warren Johnson 430
8. Bruce Allen 366
9. Rickie Smith 295
10. Mike Edwards 273

You Can Find Our Online Media Web Site At:

Media Contact:

Scott “Woody” Woodruff
Director of Media
Office /800.345.4545 ext 3412
Mobile / 614.595.1820
Fax / 740.362.4385
Email / jegspr@aol.com & scott.woodruff@jegs.com


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance