Related News:
Big weekend on tap for frontrunner Coughlin
Tuesday, June 05, 2007

Future drag racing stars showcased in JEGS Allstars event
Tuesday, June 05, 2007

Field of 64 elite sportsman racers set for JEGS Allstars
Tuesday, June 05, 2007

Tuesday, June 04, 2007

For many JEGS Allstars contestants, once is not enough

JOLIET, Ill. (June 6) – For an NHRA sportsman racer few things are more prestigious than winning the annual JEGS Allstars event at Route 66 Raceway in Joliet, Ill. A special event that highlights the best Lucas Oil Series racers from all over the North America, the JEGS Allstars features eight car fields of competitors in eighth NHRA classes – Top Alcohol Dragster, Top Alcohol Funny Car, Competition Eliminator, Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, and Super Street – and features a total payout of more than $100,000. Competitors qualify for the Allstars event by earning points at divisional events throughout the previous 12 months. Each of NHRA’s seven geographic divisions sends a field of eight drivers, one per class to compete in the event. Defending event winners are also welcomed back to round out each eight-car field.

For most drivers, the only thing better than winning one JEGS Allstars title is winning two, or three, or four, or even five. Over the last 23 years many drivers have had the opportunity to do just that as the event has produced 34 repeat winners including two five time champions and three four time winners.

The two racers who stand out among the crowd are ten-time NHRA Top Alcohol Funny Car champion Frank Manzo and Rudy Matthews, a successful Super Street competitor from the North Central Division. Both Manzo and Matthews have won the Allstars event an incredible five times.

Manzo, who represents the Northeast Division, won his first JEGS Allstars title in 1995 and has also carded wins in 1997, 1998, 2005 and 2006. As the defending champion, he is eligible to return for this year’s event where he will attempt to claim his record-breaking sixth title. Matthews claimed his five wins during a successful six year run from 1996 through 2001.

Manzo and Matthews could have some company this year as four-time NHRA champion Jeff Taylor will be seeking his fifth Allstars title. Taylor, a champion in Super Stock in 1991 and 1992 and the Competition Eliminator winner in 2001 and 2006 will again be one of the favorites in the Comp class.

There are several other former JEGS Allstars champions who will have on opportunity to add their names to the list of repeat winners including, reigning NHRA Top Alcohol Dragster champ Bill Reichert, Southeast Division Top Alcohol Funny Car representative Jay Payne, Northeast Division Comp ace Sal Biondo, and Jerry Emmons, the South Central Division Super Stock representative.

The JEGS Allstars will take place on Saturday, June 9 during the Torco Race Fuels Route 66 Nationals at Route 66 Raceway. First round of eliminations is scheduled for 10:30 a.m.

The following is a list of repeat winners in the JEGS Allstars competition:The following is a list of repeat winners in the JEGS Allstars competition:

Five-time champs

Frank Manzo, Top Alcohol Funny Car; (1995, 1997, 1998, 2005, 2006)
Rudy Matthews, Super Street; (1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001)

Four time champs

Pat Austin, Top Alcohol Funny Car; (1987, 1988, 1989, 1999)
Edmond Richardson, Super Comp; (1987, 1991, 1994, 1995)
Jeff Taylor, Super Stock, Comp; (1991, 1992, 2001, 2006)

Three time champs

Tony Bartone, Top Alcohol Funny Car; (1994, 1996, 2000)
Tom Conway, Top Alcohol Dragster; (1990, 1991, 1994)
Grant Lewis, Stock, Super Stock; (1989, 1993, 1994)
Craig Miller, Super Street; (1986, 1987, 1988)
Bob Newberry, Top Alcohol Funny Car; (1985, 1990, 1993)
Alan Peters, Stock; (1985, 1986, 1987)

Two time champs

Peter Biondo, Super Stock; (2001, 2003)
Bob Broadbent, Stock; (1990, 1991)
Steve Cohen, Super Gas; (2000, 2005)
Jeg Coughlin Jr., Super Gas, Super Stock; (1991, 1997)
Garley Daniels, Comp; (1990, 1991)
Steve Eckard, Super Gas; (1986, 2004)
Dan Fletcher, Super Stock; (1999, 2000)
Rock Haas, Super Comp, Super Gas; (2001, 2006)
Jeff Hefler, Stock; (1998, 2000)
Frank Kohutek, Super Gas; (1996, 2002)
Shawn Langdon, Super Comp; (2005, 2006)
Jimmy Lewis, Super Gas; (1998, 1999)
Bill Maropulos, Comp; 1985, 1986,
David Nickens, Comp; (1987, 1992)
Jim Perry Jr., Super Comp; (2003, 2004)
Larry Pritchett, Comp (2000, 2004)
Scotty Richardson, Super Comp, (1992, 1993)
Luke Shumard, Super Comp; (1999, 2000)
Vic Singer, Super Gas; (1989, 1990)
Marty Thacker, Top Alcohol Dragster; (2002, 2006)
Mike Trumble, Super Stock, Comp; (1989, 2002)
Bill Walsh, Top Alcohol Dragster; 1985, 1987
John Wood, Super Gas; (1993, 1994)

Information regarding JEGS Mail Order can be found at and for media/fan resources check out

Media Contact:

Scott “Woody” Woodruff
JEGS, Director of Media & Motorsports
Office: 800.345.4545 (3.412)
Mobile: 614.595.1820
Fax: 740.362.4385
Email: -or-


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance