Route 66 Raceway, Joliet, Ill.

July, 9, 2016

Now celebrating its 32nd year, the JEGS Allstars competition is one of the most highly anticipated events of the season for racers in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series. Racers can only qualify for one of the coveted spots on the JEGS Allstars team by winning a year-long competition within each of NHRA’s seven geographic divisions.

The racers in the JEGS Allstars event will be competing for a share of more than $120,000 in cash awards posted by JEGS Mail Order. The overall team champions will split a $20,000 bonus. In addition, there are close to $50,000 in manufacturer posted contingency awards availabe to the finalists this year.

Any driver who can win the JEGS Allstars on Saturday and then return to win the NHRA O’Reilly Route 66 Nationals title the following day will automatically be eligible for a “double-up” bonus from JEGS Mail Order.

Current NHRA pros Jeg Coughlin Jr., Morgan Lucas, and Shawn Langdon are all former winners of the JEGS Allstars race.

Last year, the team from the NHRA Southeast Division (Division 2) won its seventh overall team title in the JEGS Allstars. The Division 2 team was led by Kevin Brannon and Jeffrey Barker, who won in Super Comp and Top Sportsman, respectively.

There are 18 former or current NHRA national champions racing in this year’s JEGS Allstars event. They are Duane Shields, Randy Meyer, Joey Severance, Chris Demke, Craig Bourgeois, Alan Ellis, David Rampy, Don Keen, Austin Williams, Ryan McClanahan, Frank Aragona Jr., Sherman Adcock Jr., Kevin Brannon, Iggie Boicsco, Luke Bogacki, Matt Driskell, Jimmy Lewis, and Jeffrey Barker.

There are three women in this year’s JEGS Allstars field. Mia Tedesco will represent the North Central Region in Top Alcohol Dragster. Annie Whiteley will represent the West Region in Top Alcohol Funny Car, and Allison Smyth will represent the Northeast Division in Stock Eliminator.

The teams from the Northeast Division (Division 1), Southeast Division (Division 2) and North Central Division (Division 3) are tied with seven overall titles in the JEGS Allstars. The South Central Division (Division 4) team has six.

There are three racers in this year’s field who are pulling double-duty. Trevor Larson is the Division 5 representative in Super Comp and Super Gas while Mike Shannon will represent the Division 6 team in Super Comp and Super Gas. Austin Williams is also the Division 4 representative in Stock and Super Comp.

Since 1985, the JEGS Allstars has been contested in four locations; Bowling Green, Ky., Indianapolis, Ind., Columbus, Ohio, and Joliet, Ill. 

The drivers in this year’s JEGS Allstars will represent 29 U.S. states and four Canadian Provinces. There six drivers from New Jersey and five from California

By The Numbers
JEGS Allstars Edition

3    Women in the JEGS Allstars field. (Mia Tedseco, Annie Whiteley, Allison Smyth

7    JEGS Allstars Team Championships for Divisions 1, 2 and 3

6    JEGS Allstars Team Championships for Division 4

29    Different U.S. States represented by the 2012 JEGS Allstars team

32    Years for the JEGS Allstars competition


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance