Route 66 Raceway, Joliet, Ill. (July, 8, 2017)

Now celebrating its 33rd year, the JEGS Allstars competition is one of the most highly anticipated events of the season for competitors in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series. Racers must qualify for one of the coveted spots on the JEGS Allstars team by winning a year-long competition within each of NHRA’s seven geographic divisions.

The racers in the JEGS Allstars event will be competing for a share of more than $120,000 in cash awards posted by JEGS Mail Order. Overall team champions will split a $20,000 bonus. In addition, there are close to $50,000 in manufacturer posted contingency awards available to this year's finalists.

Any driver who can win the JEGS Allstars on Saturday and then return to win the Fallen Patriots NHRA Route 66 Nationals title the following day will automatically be eligible for a “double-up” bonus from JEGS Mail Order.

World champions Jeg Coughlin Jr. and Shawn Langdon are former winners of the JEGS Allstars race.

Last year, the group from the NHRA West Central Division (Division 5) won its second team title of the last three years in this event. The Division 5 team was led by Trevor Larson, who became the first driver in history to double up with wins in Super Comp and Super Gas, respectively, in the event.

There are eight former or current NHRA national champions racing in this year’s JEGS Allstars event. They are Joey Severance, Chris Demke, Mia Tedesco, Jacob Elrod, Brad Burton, Austin Williams, Doug Doll Jr. and Nick Folk.

There are three women in this year’s JEGS Allstars field. Mia Tedesco will represent the North Central Region in Top Alcohol Dragster while Megan Meyer will also race in Top Alcohol Dragster as part of the Central Region team. Jenny Treadwell will represent the Southeast Division in the Comp Eliminator class.

The teams from the Northeast Division (Division 1), Southeast Division (Division 2) and North Central Division (Division 3) are tied with seven overall JEGS Allstars titles. The South Central Division (Division 4) team has six.

There are three racers in this year’s field who are pulling double-duty. Trevor Larson is the Division 5 representative in Super Comp and Super Gas while Steven Furr will represent the Division 2 team in Super Gas and Top Dragster. Aaron Stanfield will also race in Top Dragster and Super Stock on behalf of the Division 4 team.

Since 1985, the JEGS Allstars has been contested in four locations; Bowling Green, Ky., Indianapolis, Columbus, Ohio, and Joliet, Ill.

The drivers in this year’s JEGS Allstars represent 27 U.S. states and three Canadian provinces. There are nine drivers from California and five from Pennsylvania.

By The Numbers: JEGS Allstars Edition

3 — Women in the JEGS Allstars field. (Mia Tedseco, Megan Meyer Jenny Treadwell)

7 — JEGS Allstars Team Championships for Divisions 1, 2 and 3

6 — JEGS Allstars Team Championships for Division 4

27 — Different U.S. States represented by the 2017 JEGS Allstars team

33 — Years of JEGS Allstars competition



Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance