The best Sportsman racers from each of NHRA’s seven divisions will vie for team and individual honors in this year’s NHRA Jeg’s Allstars competition. Held in conjunction with the CARQUEST Auto Parts NHRA Nationals at Route 66 Raceway in Chicago, the $100,000 special event is the culmination of a yearlong points battle between drivers in each of the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series’ eight categories (Top Alcohol Dragster, Top Alcohol Funny Car, Comp, Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, and Super Street) and features the top points earners from each division.

Drivers earned Allstars points by competing at Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series events held within their home division. Defending Allstars champions in each category are automatically placed in the field as blockers. If a defending champion earns enough points to qualify, the previous year’s runner-up is placed in the field as a blocker. If both finalists qualify, the field is limited to seven competitors.

Of the event’s $100,000 purse, $7,000 will be awarded to the Top Alcohol Dragster and Top Alcohol Funny Car winners, $6,000 to the Comp and Super Stock winners, and $4,500 to the winners in Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, and Super Street. The runner-up in each category will receive $2,000. Each competitor also will receive a share of a $20,000 towing fund to get to the event.

An additional $20,000 will be awarded to the drivers in the division that accumulates the most points. Teams earn 100 points for each round win, and defending Allstars champions who are competing as blockers cannot earn team points, but they may share in any team rewards.

As an added bonus this year, event sponsor Jeg’s High Performance will double any Allstars winner’s prize money if that racer also wins the CARQUEST Auto Parts NHRA Nationals.

Allstars festivities will begin at 10 a.m. with a photo session and driver introductions. The opening round of eliminations is scheduled for 11 a.m., semifinals at 2:15 p.m., and finals at 3:45 p.m. ND

2004 Jeg’s Allstars eliminator rosters

Top Alcohol Dragster
Division 1: Arthur Gallant
Division 2: Guy Kelley
Division 3: Bill Reichert
Division 4: Shelly Howard
Division 5: Ed Schmeeckle
Division 6: Steve Federlin
Division 7: Chris Demke
Blocker: Morgan Lucas (Division 7)

Top Alcohol Funny Car
Division 1: Frank Manzo
Division 2: Jay Payne
Division 3: Chuck Cheeseman
Division 4: Jackie Stidham
Division 5: Cy Chesterman
Division 6: Bucky Austin
Division 7: Doug Gordon

Division 1: Don Eckel III
Division 2: Larry Pritchett
Division 3: Bo Butner
Division 4: Rodger Brogdon
Division 5: Tom Schmidt
Division 6: Maureen Jondahl
Division 7: Dean Carter
Blocker: Robert Freeman (Division 4)

Super Stock
Division 1: Lincoln Morehead
Division 2: Joe LoCicero
Division 3: Jeremy Duncann
Division 4: Jeff Hefler
Division 5: Ricky Ray
Division 6: Brad Plourd
Division 7: Steve Wann
Blocker: Peter Biondo (Division 2)

Division 1: Shane Carr
Division 2: Gregory Rowe
Division 3: Kyle Riley
Division 4: Jeff Hefler
Division 5: Todd Leitner
Division 6: Brad Plourd
Division 7: Bernie Cunningham
Blocker: Harvey Emmons III (Division 4)

Super Comp
Division 1: Shane Carr
Division 2: Victor Fera
Division 3: Rock Haas
Division 4: Tommy Phillips
Division 5: Larry Piper
Division 6: Adam Drzayich
Division 7: Jack Beckman
Blocker: Jim Perry Jr. (Division 2)

Super Gas
Division 1: Ken Bowers
Division 2: David Scott
Division 3: Steve Eckard
Division 4: Clark Mundt
Division 5: Ricky Hill
Division 6: Mike Coltrin
Division 7: Randy Balough
Blocker: Tom Stalba Jr. (Division 1)

Super Street
Division 1: Steve Feller
Division 2: Michael Ruff
Division 3: Tim Shuck
Division 4: Chuck Wier
Division 5: Frank Nichols Jr.
Division 6: Jeff Jackson
Division 7: Scott Rollins
Blocker: Gary Thompson (Division 7)


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance