Auto Club Dragway at Auto Club Speedway

May 29-31

The JEGS SPORTSnationals will return to its original home at Auto Club Dragway, May 29-31, at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif. From 2006 through 2011, the event was held in Fontana, Calif. From 2012-2014 it was moved to The Strip At Las Vegas Motor Speedway. This is the second of three JEGS SPORTSnationals events held each season.

A total of 10 drivers have scored multiple victories at the Pacific SPORTSnationals including Alan Ellis, Wayne Newman, Justin Lamb, Aaron Kinard, Tibor Kadar, Mark Faul, John Widmann, Ed Sigmon, Leo Glasbrenner, Aaron Pine, and Rik Takahashi.

The list of past world champions have also won the JEGS Pacific SPORTSnationals, including Jeg Coughlin Jr., Ryan McClanahan, Keith Lynch, Ed DeStaute, Mike Ferderer, Justin Lamb, Alan Ellis, and Dean Carter.

In nine years, just one woman, current nitro Funny Car racer Alexi DeJoria, has won the JEGS Pacific SPORTSnationals. DeJoria won the Super Comp title at the inaugural event in 2006.

The battle for the coveted JEGS Crown trophy will continue at this weekend’s event. The JEGS Crown is a handcrafted trophy earned by winning two of the three JEGS SPORTSnationals events in a calendar year. The drivers currently eligible for the JEGS Crown Trophy are the champions from the Belle Rose event held earlier this season; Arnie Martel (Comp), Anthony Bertozzi (Super Stock), Kevin Helms (Stock), Jeff Lopez (Super Comp), Holden Laris (Super Gas), Ray Dew (Super Street), Keith Raftery (Top Dragster), Robert Mandell (Top Sportsman), and Dave Gautreaux (Sportsman Motorcycle).

Since its inception, the JEGS Crown has been awarded just once, to Pro Mod competitor Mike Ashley, who won the Pro Mod class in Belle Rose and Columbus in 2005.

The JEGS NHRA Pacific SPORTSnationals will include several special events including a Gambler’s Race, Shootouts for competitors in Super Comp, Super Gas, and Super Street as well as traditional class eliminations for Super Stock and Stock racers.

The only time that NHRA national event titles have been awarded in Top Comp and Super Eliminator was the inaugural Pacific SPORTSnationals race in 2006. Justin Lamb won in Top Comp and Mike Solina won in Super Eliminator. Those categories have since been replaced by Top Dragster and Top Sportsman.

While no driver has doubled at the JEGS Pacific SPORTSnationals, two have come close. Jeg Coughlin Jr. earned a win in Super Comp and a runner-up in Super Gas at the 2011 event and Mark Faul posted a win in Super Stock and a runner-up in Stock in 2008.

Prior to a revival in 2004, SPORTSnationals events were held from 1974 to 1986 at a trio of tracks; Beech Bend Raceway Park in Bowling Green, Ky., Houston International Raceway, and Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis.


JEGS – By the Numbers (JEGS NHRA Pacific SPORTSnationals edition)

1 – Driver to win the JEGS Crown trophy (Mike Ashley, 2005)

6- Former world champions have won JEGS Pacific SPORTSnationals titles

11 – Drivers who have won multiple titles at the JEGS Pacific SPORTSnationals

78 – Individual champions have been crowned since the inaugural event in 2006


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance