The NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series will kick off its 24th season with a return to the NHRA Spring Sportsman Challenge XX National Open at the newly reopened Gateway Motorsports Park, April 14 & 15.   The nine-race 2012 series will conclude as part of the 21st annual NHRA Fall Classic National Open at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis, October 20 & 21.


Both the season opener and closing series events will feature 64-car fields with qualifying on Saturday and eliminations on Sunday.   The two events will book end traditional 32-car field single day events as the series tour makes stops in Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky and Ohio.   A racer’s six-best point finishes from the nine-race series will count toward the division championship.


Each event winner will earn $2,000 of the $3,300 event purse plus added product contingency postings for event winners and runners-up.


Another feature of the series is the JEGS Super Quick Shootout with the top eight qualifiers based on qualifying points squaring off in the special race-within-a-race at the season final in Indy.   All events leading up to season ending event are counted for the shootout.   Al Peavler became the 15th different driver to win the JEGS Shootout.


Following the opener at Gateway, the series then heads to Beech Bend Raceway Park in Bowling Green, Ky. as part of the 26th annual NHRA SportsNATIONAL OPEN, May 26.   Lyons Raceway Park (Lyons, Ind.) will host the series June 2 before stops at Crossroads Dragway located at the Wabash Valley Fairgrounds in Terre Haute, Ind., June 23 and Kil-Kare Dragway in Xenia, Ohio, July 14.


Pacemakers Dragway Park in Mt. Vernon, Ohio will kick off the second half of the season with their event July 28.   Bunker Hill Dragstrip then hosts the series August 11 as part of its Summer Sizzler bonus bracket racing event and Coles County Dragway in Charleston, Ill. will feature the series August 18, last race counting for the JEGS Super Quick Shootout.


Last year’s chase for the championship once again went down to the final rounds of the final event of the season with Bobby Small of Hartford, Ky. collecting his first division title despite never having an event win.   Small became the nineteenth series champion and is expected to attempt to join Randy Estridge, Tim Branon, Tommy Radloff and Bo Boles and a two-time series champion.


The JEGS Super Quick Series sponsorship is part of JEGS’ extensive support of sportsman racing programs which include the annual JEGS Allstars event and title sponsorship of the three NHRA SPORTSnational events including the JEGS NHRA Northern SPORTSnationals in Columbus, Ohio.


Information regarding JEGS can be found at and for media/fan resources check out .


For more information on the 2012 NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series check related stories on or contact the North Central Division office 765-689-8727.










April 14 & 15               Spring Sportsman Challenge XX National Open &

                                    NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series (Bonus 64-car field)

                                    Gateway Motorsports Park – St. Louis, Mo.


May 26                         26th Annual NHRA SportsNATIONAL OPEN &

                                    NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Beech Bend Raceway Park – Bowling Green, Ky.


June 2                          NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Lyons Raceway Park – Lyons, Indiana


June 23                        NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Crossroads Dragway – Terre Haute, Ind.


July 14                         NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Kil-Kare Dragway – Xenia, Ohio


July 28                         NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Pacemakers Dragway Park – Mt. Vernon, Ohio


August 11                   NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Bunker Hill Dragstrip – Bunker Hill, Ind.


August 18                   NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Coles County Dragway USA – Charleston, Ill.


October 20 & 21         21st Annual NHRA Fall Classic National Open &

                                    NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series (Bonus 64-car field)

                                    Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis





Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance