INDIANAPOLIS – The first NHRA North Central division Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event of the season was completed at Indianapolis Raceway Park this weekend. In Top Alcohol Dragster competition, Bill Reichert scored the win while Chuck Cheeseman took the Top Alcohol Funny Car win.

Reichert, a resident of Owosso, Mich., knocked off Dave Hedges Jr. in the opening round of eliminations and in the semis he beat Noah Condo of Monticello, Ill., who was disqualified when his car crossed the centerline. In the final round, Reichert, the No. 2 qualifier at the event, took on the top qualifier, Dave Hirata of Lowell, Ind. It was a close race but Reichert’s 5.354-second, 269.51 mph pass was enough to hold off Hirata’s 5.378-second, 261.88 mph run.

Galena, Ohio, racer Cheeseman was the third-place qualifier and picked off Bobby Martin, Beaver Falls, Pa., in the first round. In the semifinals Cheeseman beat the No. 2 qualifier, Danny Townsend, Muncie, Ind., before he laid down a 5.774-second pass at 252.80 mph in the final against the weekend’s top qualifier, Mick Snyder of Demotte, Ind., to earn his first win in more than a year.

Jeff Taylor of Floyds Knobs, Ind., led from wire to wire to take the win in Comp Eliminator while Jeff Dona, Gordonville, Mo., won in Super Stock, and Gregory Hill, Louisville, Ky., earned the Stock Eliminator win. Joining them in the winner’s circle were Butch Kleewein, North Platte, Neb., in Super Comp; Rock Haas, White Lake, Mich., in Super Gas; Dave Gardner, Convoy, Ohio, in Super Street; and Tim Kirman, Morris, Ill., in Top Sportsman.

North Central division racers head to Stanton, Mich., for the next NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event. The race at Mid-Michigan Motorplex is scheduled July 1-2.

The following are the final results from the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event at Indianapolis Raceway Park:

Round 1

1) Dave Hirata, Lowell, Ind., 5.361, 262.18 def. 8) Timothy Bowgren, Valparaiso, Ind., 5.621, 248.80
2) Bill Reichert, Owosso, Mich., 5.312, 263.20 def. 7) Dave Hedges Jr., Plainwell, Mich., 5.476, 255.73
3) Noah Condo, Monticello, Ind., 5.473, 261.07 def. 6) Jeff Hamelink, Savage, Minn., 9.845, 72.73
5) Randy Meyer, Spring Hill, Kan., 5.395, 257.38 def. 4) Ken Perry, Gormley, Ont., 5.463, 253.85
Hirata, 5.491, 255.77 def. Meyer, foul
Reichert, 5.336, 267.43 def. Condo, broke
Reichert, 5.354, 269.51 def. Hirata, 5.378, 261.88

Round 1

1) Mick Snyder, Demotte, Ind., ’02 Firebird, 5.716, 249.63 def. 8) Brian Grisham, Chicago, ’92 Probe, 6.715, 208.07;
2) Danny Townsend, Muncie, Ind., ’05 Stratus, 5.724, 245.32 def. 7) Rick Cortino, Wheaton, Ill., ’97 Firebird, 6.326, 221.85
3) Chuck Cheeseman, Galena, Ohio, ’02 Firebird, 5.705, 245.94 def. 6) Bobby Martin, Beaver Falls, Pa., ’01 Avenger, broke
5) Andy Bohl, Racine, Wis., ’00 Firebird, 5.831, 234.90 def. 4) Bruce Carlson, Prior Lake, Minn., ’97 Firebird, 5.828, 239.78
Snyder, 5.733, 251.91 def. Bohl, 6.812, 148.01
Cheeseman, 5.725, 252.43 def. Townsend, 5.784, 252.43
Cheeseman, 5.774, 252.80 def. Snyder, 6.007, 225.75


Jeff Taylor, Floyds Knobs, Ind., ’05 Grand Am, H/SMA, 14.732, 75.92 def. Robert Bailey, Wabash, Ind., dragster, A/ED, broke


Jeff Dona, Gordonville, Mo., ’69 Camaro, SS/IA, 10.033, 126.47 def. Rusty Perkins, Bowling Green, Ky., ’70 Corvette, SS/EA, 9.746, 135.40


Gregory Hill, Louisville, Ky., ’71 Camaro, E/SA, 10.959, 119.43 def. Lyn Smith, Pontiac, Ill., ’72 Gran Sport, F/SA, 11.274, 115.32


Butch Kleewein, North Platte, Neb., dragster, 8.902, 169.23 def. Ron Erks, Clinton, Ohio, dragster, 8.899, 172.78


Rock Haas, White Lake, Mich., ’05 Corvette, 9.921, 154.47 def. Donald Schultz Jr., Brillion, Wis., ’91 Calais, 9.858, 141.65


Dave Gardner, Convoy, Ohio, ’83 Mustang, 10.927, 133.29 def. Dan Carter, Georgetown, Ky., ’68 Camaro, 10.991, 121.84


Tim Kirman, Morris, Ill., ’01 Grand Am, 7.279, 189.63 def. Keith McPherson, Leonard, Mich., ’06 GTO, 7.200, 192.44


Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance