Texas Motorplex (Dallas, Texas) October 13-15, 2017

The JEGS Mail Order team will be represented at this week’s 32nd annual AAA Texas NHRA Fallnationals by six-time world champion Jeg Coughlin Jr. behind the wheel of the JEGS.com Elite Motorsports Pro Stock Camaro.

Jeg Jr.’s Camaro will once be adorned in pink for the month of October as part of breast cancer awareness month.

Jeg Jr. will continue his pursuit of a sixth NHRA Mello Yello Pro Stock title (and seventh overall) at this weekend's event. Jeg Jr. will be driving a Rick Jones Race Cars-built Chevy Camaro as a member of the Elite Motorsports team.

Jeg Jr. enters the Dallas event ranked No. 8 in the NHRA Mello Yello Pro Stock points standings. This is the fourth event in the Countdown to the Championship, NHRA’s six-race playoff. This year, Jeg Jr. has earned runner-up finishes in Houston and Topeka to go with four semifinal results.

Jeg Jr. is teammates with two-time world champ Erica Enders, Brian “Lump” Self and Alex Laughlin. Veteran crew chiefs Rick Jones, Mark Ingersoll and Self are the tuners of the Elite Pro Stock cars and regularly share data.

This season, Jeg Jr. has been Pro Stock's No. 1 qualifier in Houston, Charlotte and Bristol. He has been the low qualifier 23 times in his career.

Jeg Jr. made his Pro Stock debut at the Texas Motorplex in 1997. He qualified No. 7 and defeated the late Scott Geoffrion in Round 1 before losing to Jim Yates in the quarterfinals.

Jeg Jr. won the Pro Stock title in Dallas in 2002 defeating Gene Wilson in the final round. He also earned runner-up finishes in 2000, 2003 and 2008.

In 20 appearances at the Texas Motorplex, Jeg Jr. has a elimination record of 23-16 in Pro Stock competition.

Jeg Jr. has won at least one NHRA national event at 24 different facilities, including the Texas Motorplex. The only stops on the on the current NHRA Mello Yello tour where he has not won are Norwalk, Ohio and Epping, N.H.

Jeg Jr.'s best elapsed time in a Pro Stock car is 6.484 seconds and his best speed is 214.62 mph, both recorded in Gainesville in 2014. Earlier this season in Houston, he ran a best of 6.499 seconds, his best run in the fuel injection era.

Earlier this season, Jeg Jr. became just the 10th NHRA racer to win 600 elimination rounds when reached the semifinals in Topeka. He currently has 606 round wins. The other nine drivers with 600 wins are: John Force (1,283), Warren Johnson (874), Tony Schumacher (805), Greg Anderson (758), Kenny Bernstein (682), Larry Dixon (678), Ron Capps (675), Antron Brown (672) and Doug Kalitta (619).

Jeg Jr. is a five-time NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Pro Stock champion. He earned season titles in 2000, 2002, 2007-2008 and 2013. As a sportsman driver, Jeg Jr. claimed the NHRA Super Gas championship in 1992.

Jeg Jr. is the only driver to win national event titles in seven different categories. He has won in Pro Stock, Comp, Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas and Top Dragster.

Jeg Jr. is the only professional racer in history to win a national event title from all 16 starting spots. During his Indy win in 2000, Jeg Jr. qualified No. 16.

With 58 Pro Stock wins in his career, Jeg Jr. ranks fourth all-time in the class. Only Warren Johnson (97), Greg Anderson (89) and Bob Glidden (85) and have more titles.

During his Pro Stock career, Jeg Jr. has competed in 402 events and has a round-win record of 606-328. He has red-lighted just 22 times and failed to qualify just 16 times.

In 402 career Pro Stock races, Jeg Jr. has reached the final round 102 times, recording 58 wins. Including his 18 sportsman victories, Jeg Jr. has won a total of 76 times, good for ninth place on NHRA's all-time list. During his career, Jeg Jr. has appeared in 126 final rounds, 102 as a professional and 24 as a sportsman racer.

The Coughlin family, including John, Troy, Mike, Jeg Jr. and Troy Jr., has combined for 116 NHRA national event victories since 1990. The Coughlin's have won in nine different eliminators including Pro Stock, Pro Stock Truck, Pro Mod, Comp, Super Stock, Stock, Super Comp, Super Gas, Top Sportsman and Top Dragster.

Team JEGS – By the Numbers (NHRA Dallas Edition)

1: Win for Jeg Coughlin Jr. at Texas Motorplex Raceway (2002)

7: Different classes where Jeg Coughlin Jr. has won at least one NHRA national event title (the only driver in history to do so)

10: Number of classes where the Coughlin family has earned an NHRA national event victory

16: Top-10 finishes for Jeg Coughlin Jr. in the Pro Stock class since 1998

116: Combined NHRA national event victories for the Coughlin family

606: Professional round wins for Jeg Coughlin Jr., one of just 10 NHRA pros to reach that milestone




Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance