BOWLING GREEN, Ky. – Chase Williams led the list of nine winners who were crowned JEGS SPORTSnationals Champions in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series at Beech Bend Raceway Park.

Williams meet up with David Rampy in the Comp Eliminator final and drilled the tree with a .001 second reaction time propelling him to the win in 6.819 seconds at 175.34 mph. Rampy who advanced to his 154th national event final tipped the clocks at 7.315, 154.69.

Richmond, Ky., racer Jeremy Mason took out last years champion Jonathan Anderson in Super Comp with a holeshot win as Mason’s 8.932 beat the quicker Anderson at 8.928. The win was Mason’s first as he’ll take home the coveted NHRA Wally trophy.

Jeff Niceswanger and Denny Napier were also first-time winners with Niceswanger taking out Ryan Haag in Super Stock and Napier beating local favorite Mark Smith of Bowling Green, Ky., in Super Street. Niceswanger, Zanesville, Ohio, drove his ’90 Camaro to a 10.109, 127.28 mph victory lap with Napier, Pataskala, Ohio, going 10.874, 144.07 in his ‘77 Vega.

In Stock it was Dave Walther, Lanesville, Ind., grabbing his first national event win since the 1997 U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis. Walther went 10.995 at 105.43 mph in his ’69 Camaro on a victory lap as Austin Alvey, Taylorsville, Ky., left early with a foul start.

Mark McDonald and Chad Axford took home the wins in Top Sportsman and Top Dragster presented by Racing RVs. McDonald put John Taylor on the trailer with a lap of 6.656 at 202.82 mph and Axford out ran No. 1 qualifier Matt Sackman with a 7.703 second 129.34 mph pass.

Leo Zynda and Derek Dorey rounded out the winner’s as Zynda beat Steve Hoyt in Super Gas and Dorey won over Eric Cooper in Sportsman Motorcycle. Zynda went 9.888 to Hoyt’s 9.882 in a double breakout and Dorey’s 9.008 ran down Cooper’s 9.047.

Most of these racers will head to Route 66 Raceway next weekend for the JEGS Route 66 NHRA Nationals outside Chicago where they will meet up with the racers in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series.

The following are final results from the JEGS NHRA SPORTSnationals presented by Quick Fuel and the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event at Beech Bend Raceway Park:


Chase Williams, Carthage, Texas, ’14 dragster, 6.819, 176.34 def. David Rampy, Piedmont, Ala., ’32 roadster, 7.135, 154.69


Jeff Niceswanger, Zanesville, Ohio, ’90 Camaro, 10.109, 127.28 def. Ryan Haag, Seymour, Ind., ’67 Camaro, 9.604, 136.23


Dave Walther, Lanesville, Ind., ’69 Camaro, 10.995, 105.43 def. Austin Alvey, Taylorsville, Ky., ’69 Nova, 12.214, 74.36


Jeremy mason, Richmond, Ky., ’15 dragster, 8.932, 169.98 def. Jonathan Anderson, Williamson, Ga., ’09 dragster, 8.928, 164.99


Leo Zynda, Clinton Township, Mich., ’90 Cavalier, 9.888, 144.07 def. Steve Hoyt, Fort Wayne, Ind., ’63 Corvette, 9.882, 172.43


Denny Napier, Pataskala, Ohio, ’77 Vega, 10.874, 144.07 def. Mark Smith, Bowling Green, Ky., ’82 Mustang, 10.867, 134.08


Chad Axford, Portland, Tenn., 7.703, 129.34 def. Matt Sackman, Channahon, Ill., 8.045, 111.06


Mark McDonald, Boonville, Ind., ’67 Mustang, 6.656, 202.82 def. John Taylor, Naples, Fla., ’99 Dakota, 7.179, 187.86


Derek Dorey, Kingwood, Texas, ’03 Trac Razor, 9.008, 136.29 def., Eric Cooper, Martinsville, Ill., ’75 KZ 900, 9.047, 137.02



Media Note: Additional information is available at the following locations:
Facebook - JEGS Performance
Twitter - TeamJEGS
Twitter - JEGS Performance